Know Your Social Media –

Imagine getting the worst birthday gift ever and you really would just like to sell it and buy what you wanted. In order to do that you turn to a classified page within Facebook, but you weren’t aware that the group you posted in was public. Your friend just saw your post. How do you explain why you are trying to sell your new birthday gift? Had you known about the different privacy levels of Facebook groups the needless embarrassment could have been avoided.

Facebook defines group as “dedicated spaces where you can share updates, photos, or documents and message other group members.” Within these groups there are different privacy setting that can be set for the group themselves. Most time these settings are chosen and maintained by the groups administrators. It is important to be aware of the different types of groups setting there are and how they impact others abilities in and outside the group to see your posts.

When you look to join a new group it is important to be aware of the 3 privacy settings, public, closed, and secret. While all 3 groups function in similar ways, the security and who can see your posts vary.

 

Public Group

public

Who can join: Anyone

Who can find the group: Anyone

Who can see member’s posts: Anyone

Who can see stories about the group: Anyone

 

Closed

closed
Who can join: Anyone or be invited by another member

Who can find the group: Anyone

Who can see member’s posts: Only current members

Who can see stories about the group: Only current members

 

Private

private

Who can join: Anyone, but they must be added or invited by a current member

Who can find the group: Current or former members

Who can see member’s posts: Only current members

Who can see stories about the group: Only current members

 

As you can see, the 3 groups offer different levels of visibility to others. Public groups allow for anyone to see any of the information that you are posting. A closed groups allows you to add yourself to the group, but allows your posts to stay private within the group you are in. A secret group provides the highest security. In most cases only current members can see your information and in order to even see the group with Facebook, you have to be added to it.

 

It is always good to be aware of what kind of group you are in and who can see your posts. Check back next week for more Know Your Social Media.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s