Those of us that consider ourselves runners are familiar with lots of tools to help us get through runs, maintain our running ability and track our progress in some sort of way.

 

In 2006 Nike created a system it called Nike +, which basically put a sensor on your shoe that would sync up to your iPod via an attachment.  Now when this first came out there were certain things you had to have or needed to purchase.  First, you needed an iPod (I had the first generation iPod Nano), then you needed the sensor and attachment for your shoe and iPod.  You also needed a method to keep the sensor on your foot, which for Nike meant you bought a pair of shoes with a hole in the sole to place the sensor.  But not long after, other companies created little pouches for the sensor that you could just put onto your shoelace that worked just as well.

 

The benefits of this were great because while you were listening to your music while you ran, you would get updates from your iPod saying 1 miles completed, or 2 miles completed.  You could set goals as to how far you wanted to go, how long you wanted to go, etc and get instant feedback from your iPod on what you were doing.  Then when completed you could sync the information to the Nike + website and have a glance of your runs daily, weekly, monthly, yearly, etc.  It was pretty cool and really a good idea.

 

With the evolution of the iPhone you no longer need the sensor in your shoe, as the Nike + app uses the GPS from your phone to track your run, as well as an accelerometer that is built into the phone to track distance via your arm movement.  Both technologies worked even better than the shoe sensor and came at much less cost.  A great improvement, minus the cost.  Good deal.

 

But Nike was onto something.  This technology was great for running and the tracking website made making goals and keeping track of your progress very easy and fun.  But it was  still only for running.  I always wished I could use the app to track what I did, not only when I worked out, but when I was just going through my day.  For instance, how many steps is it from my parking space at work to my office.  How many calories do I burn going up a flight of stairs for a meeting.  What exercise do I get when I am not working out?

 

Then it came out in January of 2012.  The Nike + Fuelband.  Built on the same accelerometer technology and mathematical formulas based on your body type, the Nike + Fuelband could track all of your movement throughout the day.

 

The band fits on your wrist like a Lance Armstrong “LiveStrong” bracelet and contains a one button control and digital pixel face plate that allows you to , by pushing the button, see your Calories burned, Steps taken, the time and a new metric created by Nike know as Fuel.  Nike Fuel is basically the data of the accelerometer against oxygen outputs to get a recording of how much fuel you burned throughout the day.  With the Nike + Fuelband, you are able to set a goal of Nike Fuel on a daily basis or can change it however you like.  The goal is to burn enough NikeFuel to make your goal.  And the best part is it works.

 

It is amazing how when you challenge yourself to make a goal, you really do all you can to do it.  I have found I burn more Nike Fuel running up the stairs than walking up, for an example.  After  I have been sitting at a desk for a few hours I can look at my goal status on the nike + fuelband and realize I need to move some.  I do a quick lab around the building just to work towards getting to my goal.

 

I can sync all my data to an app on my iPhone, or I can plug the FuelBand into a USB cord and upload the data to my Nike + account through the computer.  All my data available all the time!

The band is lightweight, has a clock function, so acts as a bracelet that is tracking my movement throughout the day, while I rarely notice it unless I need to check the time.  I always know how close or behind in reaching my daily goal I am based on the LED lighting strip that starts the day at red, progresses to yellow, and hopefully ends with the goal in green.

 

The cost of the FuelBand is $149.00 and can be purchased at www.nike.com.

Brett Williams, Help Desk Manager From Laramie, WY

One response to “

  1. I’m a big fan of the FuelBand! I just wish it did a little better with biking… 🙂

Leave a Reply

